9 May 2017 – Malaysia will be the host for 2017 Asia Rugby Championship – Division 1. The tournament is schedule to start on 14th May 2017. The last match day 3 of the tournament will be held on 20th May 2017.

Malaysia as the 2016 champion will compete against Sri Lanka, Philippines and United Arab Emirates in the tournament. All the matches will take place at Padang Ipoh, Perak.

The tournament champion will have the chance to gain promotion to compete in the Asia Rugby Championship – Premier. This will also keep the chance of qualifying to 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.

The tournament is oragnise by Malaysia Rugby in conjunction with Perak State Government and all six matches will be broadcast live by Astro Arena.