Malaysia retain the Asia Rugby Championship Division 1 trophy as they beat Sri Lanka 22 – 9 in the last match of ARC Division 1. The match took place at the Padang Ipoh, Perak. Malaysia beat United Arab Emirates and Philippines in the two earlier matches. They keep their excellent week, as the win all the three matches in the championship.

Malaysia will compete in the Asia Rugby Championship Premier in 2018. Malaysia will face South Korea and Hong Kong in the championship. It is scheduled to take place from 24 April until 2 June 2018. There will be home and away matches in that championship.

United Arab Emirates will compete in the ARC Division 2 for 2018 as they finish last. UAE unable to win a single match in the championship. They lost to Philippines in their last match.

Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah Al-Maghfur- presented the championship trophy and medals to the winner.